Sea-ice forecasts in the Arctic: what conditions are likely at the beginning of the MOSAiC experiment?

During the MOSAiC expedition, in October 2019 the research icebreaker RV Polarstern will be moored to an ice floe in the northern Laptev Sea, a region where the ice conditions are largely unknown. Sea-ice forecasts based on numerical models represent an important tool for estimating the conditions in advance. The forecast for sea-ice conditions in October 2019 presented below is an essential component of planning the course for MOSAiC.

In the context of an international project on sea-ice forecasts, the Sea Ice Outlook (SIO), since 2008 the AWI has taken part in a scientific competition to provide the most accurate seasonal forecast for the minimum sea-ice extent in September. The SIO has been coordinated by the ‘Sea Ice Prediction Network project (SIPN)’ since 2014, and has been part of ‘Sea Ice Prediction Network–Phase 2 (SIPN2)’ since 2018. You can find descriptions of the two forecasting methods used at the AWI (dynamic and statistical) here.

Every year, the SIO prepares reports in June, July and August on the forecasts submitted for the September sea-ice minimum, which are supplemented by the latest analyses of the sea-ice conditions. Post-season reports provide detailed analyses of key factors influencing the sea ice, while also assessing the scientific methods that various international groups use for their seasonal forecasts, which range from heuristic to statistical and dynamic. The method described here pursues a dynamic approach, based on a numerical model of the sea ice and Arctic Ocean.

The system used for the pre-MOSAiC forecasts is similar to that used for predicting the September minimum, but there are several important differences. Both systems start with an analysis of the sea-ice conditions in March and April, which is produced by ‘fusing’ observational data and model simulations (‘data assimilation’). The data used includes satellite-based observations of daily ice concentrations and ocean surface temperature (both from the Ocean and Sea Ice Satellite Application Facility (OSI SAF)); of daily snow thickness (from the University of Bremen); and, most importantly, of the monthly mean ice thickness (CS2 / CS2SMOS from the AWI). The model is then integrated with atmospheric forcing data from a weather model (NCEP-CFSv2) up to the starting time for the forecast (for the MOSAiC expedition: 11 August 2019) and subsequently calculated through the end of December with forcing data from the past ten years (for the MOSAiC expedition: from 12 August to the end of the year for the years 2009 to 2018). This yields an ensemble of ten scenarios, which describe potential developments of the sea-ice conditions.

The system used for the MOSAiC forecasts differs from the September minimum system in that a) no bias correction is used, and b) a higher resolution is used. The parameters in the numerical model for the previous system were not optimally calibrated, as a result of which, in comparison to actual observations, too much sea ice melted in the summer. When the actually observed ice thicknesses in March and April were assimilated, the model predicted too little ice cover in the summer. A bias correction of the observed ice thicknesses compensates for this effect. Calibrating numerical models is a lengthy and complicated process. However, the numerical model used at the AWI was substantially improved with the help of a genetic algorithm (Sumata et al. 2019 a and b), which made a bias correction superfluous. Consequently, the system can now not only be used for September forecasts, but also for other times. Since the optimised parameters are largely scale-independent, the model’s resolution was also improved, allowing it to depict the Arctic at a grid scale of 25 km. The assimilation system remained unaffected by these changes.

In addition, in collaboration with colleagues from the AWI’s Sea Ice Physics working group, who provided field observations, suitable metrics for the pre-MOSAiC forecast were established. These metrics define regions with a) more than 70 % ice cover and b) an ice thickness of more than 1 m in the ice-covered cells. Figure 1 shows the likelihood (0-1) of encountering an ice concentration of 70 % or higher on 1, 15 and 31 October 2019, while Figure 2 shows the likelihood of encountering an ice thickness of more than 1 m on the same dates.

Needless to say, a forecast isn’t particularly useful without being validated by observational data. The system can be validated by retroactively simulating previous years. Principally speaking, this can be done starting in 2011, since it was the first year with ice-thickness observations. To date, however, only 2018 has been retroactively simulated. Figure 3 shows the likelihood of encountering 70 % or higher ice concentration on the same dates as in Figure 1 for the 2018 forecast (though the forecast was actually started somewhat earlier at 1 August 2018), together with the actually observed 70 % ice concentration isoline. In a perfect forecast, the likelihood 1 would be within the isoline, and 0 would be outside it. Here we can see high accuracy for 1 October and somewhat poorer accuracy levels for 15 and 31 October, which is due to the fact that the ice cover increased between 1 and 31 October, which the model can’t perfectly simulate.

A validation of the 1 m ice-thickness metric is not possible for individual days, but only for monthly data, since only monthly ice-thickness data is available. Accordingly, Figure 4 shows the ice-thickness forecast for the monthly mean, together with the monthly forecast for 2018. Here, too, we can see an high level of accuracy.

In summary, it can be said that, with the help of the dynamic forecasting system at the AWI, the ice conditions (concentration and thickness) for October 2019 in the starting region for the MOSAiC expedition can be predicted with a high level of accuracy. This allows us to provide initial guidance on the expedition route, before radar satellite images and, later, helicopter flights are used to determine the final target position for the sea-ice drift station.

References:
Sumata, H., Kauker, F., Karcher, M. und Gerdes, R., 2019a: Simultaneous Parameter Optimization of an Arctic Sea Ice–Ocean Model by a Genetic Algorithm, doi.org/10.1175/MWR-D-18-0360.1

 

Sumata, H., Kauker, F., Karcher, M. und Gerdes, R., 2019b: Covariance of Optimal Parameters of an Arctic Sea Ice–Ocean Model, doi.org/10.1175/MWR-D-18-0375.1

 

Responsible for numerical ice forecasts and contact person at the AWI:
Dr Frank Kauker (Frank.Kauker@awi.de)

Meereisvorhersage in der Arktis: Mit welchen Bedingungen ist zu Beginn des MOSAiC Experiments zu rechnen?

Für die MOSAiC-Expedition ist es vorgesehen, dass das Forschungsschiff FS Polarstern im Oktober 2019 an einer Scholle in der nördlichen Laptewsee festmachen wird. Die Eisbedingungen dort sind weitestgehend unbekannt. Eine wichtige Methode, um die Eisbedingungen im Vorhinein abzuschätzen, ist die auf numerischen Modellen beruhende Meereisvorhersage. Die im Folgenden vorgestellte Vorhersage der Meereisbedingungen im Oktober 2019 liefert einen wichtigen Baustein für die Fahrtplanung von MOSAiC.

Im Rahmen eines internationalen Projektes zur Meereisvorhersage, dem sogenannten Sea Ice Outlook (SIO), nimmt das AWI seit 2008 an einem wissenschaftlichen Wettbewerb teil, dessen Ziel es ist, saisonale Vorhersagen der minimalen Meereisausdehnung im September bereitzustellen. Seit 2014 wird der SIO vom ‘Sea Ice Prediction Network project (SIPN)’ organisiert und seit 2018 ist der SIO Teil von ‘Sea Ice Prediction Network–Phase 2 (SIPN2)’. Eine Beschreibung der beiden am AWI betriebenen Vorhersageverfahren (dynamisch und statistisch) findet sich hier.

Der SIO erstellt im Juni, Juli und August eines jeden Jahres Berichte über die eingereichten Vorhersagen des September Meereisminimums, erweitert um aktuelle Analysen der Meereisbedingungen. Post-Season-Berichte liefern detaillierte Analysen wichtiger Einflussfaktoren auf das Meereis und untersuchen die wissenschaftlichen Methoden, die von den verschiedenen internationalen Gruppen zur saisonalen Vorhersage benutzt werden. Dabei reichen die Methoden von heuristischen, über statistische bis zu dynamischen. Die Methode, die hier beschrieben wird, folgt einem dynamischem Ansatz, der ein numerisches Modell des Meereises und des Ozeans der Arktis verwendet.

Das System, das für die Prä-MOSAiC-Vorhersagen benutzt wird, ähnelt dem zur Vorhersage des Septemberminimums, unterscheidet sich aber durch wichtige Details. Beide Systeme nutzen als Startbedingung eine Analyse der Meereisbedingungen im März und April, die durch „Verschmelzen“ von Beobachtungsdaten und Modellsimulationen erzeugt wird („Datenassimilierung“). Die dafür verwendeten Beobachtungen sind satelliten-gestützte, tägliche Eiskonzentrationen und Meeresoberflächentemperatur (beide von „Ocean and Sea Ice Satellite Application Facility, OSI SAF“), tägliche Schneedicken (von der Universität Bremen) und, am wichtigsten, die monatliche Eisdicke (CS2 bzw. CS2SMOS vom AWI). Das Modell wird dann bis zum Startzeitpunkt der Vorhersage (im Fall der MOSAiC-Expedition der 11. August 2019) mit atmosphärischen Antriebsdaten eines Wettermodelles (NCEP-CFSv2) integriert und anschließend bis Ende Dezember mit Antriebsdaten aus den letzten zehn Jahre weitergerechnet (im Fall der MOSAiC-Expedition vom 12. August der Jahre 2009 bis 2018 bis zum jeweiligen Jahresende). Auf diese Weise wird ein Ensemble mit zehn Mitgliedern erzeugt, das mögliche Entwicklungen der Meereisbedingungen beschreibt.

Das System, dass für die MOSAiC-Vorhersagen benutzt wird, unterscheidet sich von dem Septemberminimum-System dadurch, dass a) keine Bias-Korrektur und b) eine höhere Auflösung benutzt wird. Die Parameter im numerischen Modell des bisherigen Systems waren nicht optimal kalibriert, was zur Folge hatte, dass verglichen zu den Beobachtungen zu viel Meereis im Sommer schmolz. Wurden beobachtete Eisdicken im März und April assimiliert, führte das zu einer zu geringen Eisbedeckung im Sommer. Eine Bias-Korrektur der beobachteten Eisdicken kompensiert diesen Effekt. Die Kalibrierung von numerischen Modellen ist ein komplizierter und aufwendiger Prozess. Das numerische Modell am AWI konnte jedoch mit Hilfe eines genetischen Algorithmus deutlich besser eingestellt werden (Sumata et al. 2019 a und b), was die Bias-Korrektur entbehrlich macht. Dies hat zur Folge, dass das Vorhersagesystem jetzt nicht nur für Vorhersagen für den September benutzt werden kann, sondern auch für andere Zeitpunkte. Da die optimierten Parameter zum großen Teil skalenunabhängig sind, konnte auch die Modellauflösung erhöht werden, so dass die Arktis nun mit einer Gitterweite von 25 km aufgelöst werden kann. Das Assimilierungssystem blieb dabei unverändert.

Für die Prä-MOSAiC-Vorhersage wurden darüber hinaus, in Zusammenarbeit mit beobachtenden Kolleginnen und Kollegen der Arbeitsgruppe Meereisphysik am AWI, geeignete Metriken definiert. Diese Metriken definieren Gebiete mit a) einer Eisbedeckung größer als 70 % und b) einer Eisdicke größer als 1 m in der eisbedeckten Gitterzelle des Modells. Abbildung 1 zeigt die Wahrscheinlichkeit (0-1) am 1., 15. und 31. Oktober 2019 eine Eiskonzentration von 70 % und mehr anzutreffen, Abbildung 2 die Wahrscheinlichkeit, Eisdicken größer als 1 m zu den gleichen Zeitpunkten vorzufinden.

Natürlich ist eine Vorhersage ohne Validierung mit Beobachtungsdaten nicht besonders wertvoll. Validiert werden kann das System durch das Nachrechnen der vergangenen Jahre. Dies ist im Prinzip von 2011 an möglich, da ab diesem Jahr Eisdickenbeobachtungen existieren. Bisher konnte allerdings nur 2018 nachgerechnet werden. Abbildung 3 zeigt für die Vorhersage des Jahres 2018 die Wahrscheinlichkeiten für 70 % Eiskonzentration zu den gleichen Zeitpunkten wie in Abbildung 1 (die Vorhersage wurde jedoch etwas früher am 1. August 2018 gestartet), zusammen mit der tatsächlich beobachteten 70 % Eiskonzentration-Isolinie. Bei einer perfekten Vorhersage wäre die Wahrscheinlichkeit 1 innerhalb der Isolinie und 0 außerhalb. Es zeigt sich eine sehr hohe Güte für den 1. Oktober und eine etwas Schlechtere für den 15. und 31. Oktober, was darauf zurückzuführen ist, dass die Eisbedeckung vom 1. bis zum 31. Oktober zunimmt und dies vom Modell nicht perfekt simuliert werden kann.

Eine Validierung der 1 m-Eisdicke Metrik ist nicht für einzelne Tage möglich, sondern nur für monatliche Daten, da Eisdickendaten nur monatlich existieren. In Abbildung 4 ist daher die Eisdicke-Vorhersage für das Monatsmittel zusammen mit der monatlichen Vorhersage für 2018 gezeigt. Auch hier zeigt sind eine sehr hohe Güte der Vorhersage.

Zusammenfassend lässt sich feststellen, dass mit Hilfe des dynamischen Vorhersagesystems am AWI die Eisbedingungen (Eiskonzentration und Eisdicke) für Oktober 2019 in der Startregion der MOSAiC-Expedition mit hoher Güte vorhergesagt werden können. Hierdurch kann eine erste Routenberatung für die Expedition vorgenommen werden, bevor mit Radar-Satellitenbildern und später Helikoptererkundungen die finale Zielposition für den Start der Meereisdriftstation bestimmt wird.

Referenzen:
Sumata, H., Kauker, F., Karcher, M. und Gerdes, R., 2019a: Simultaneous Parameter Optimization of an Arctic Sea Ice–Ocean Model by a Genetic Algorithm, doi.org/10.1175/MWR-D-18-0360.1

Sumata, H., Kauker, F., Karcher, M. und Gerdes, R., 2019b: Covariance of Optimal Parameters of an Arctic Sea Ice–Ocean Model, doi.org/10.1175/MWR-D-18-0375.1

Verantwortlich für numerische Eisvorhersagen und Kontakt Person am AWI:
Dr. Frank Kauker (Frank.Kauker@awi.de)